A melancholy carol

I curl up my blanket, yet the cold seeps in through some silly crack…
I wake up at odd hours, for my pillow has turned into a block of ice..
I lean against the wall and it gives shivers in my spine…
I wash my hands and all I feel is the pang of sharp cold needles..

I open the balcony.. cold crisp air fills my lungs ….
And I’m greeted by a gloomy tungsten sky…..
I can see her sore eyes, for she has been crying all day yesterday,
I can feel the sorrow, as the bitter cold tastes sadness..

The wind sings a melancholy carol..
And the earth, holds a trail of tears..
The city is soaked in her overwhelming grief..
And I can see, my heart too has turned heavy…

Leave a Reply

